Posted by: Louise | October 17, 2010

Day 17 – an art piece that moves you

I am in danger of sitting here all night dredging through my memories for one piece that stands out. I’ve already passed an hour staring at the screen. What I saw in any piece of art before is different to what I see now. It is changed because I am changed, and what moved me before may not move me at all now.

And so, rather than revisit that collection in my head, I will offer one piece, a piece I made in innocence about 11 years ago – a piece that a number of friends have hanging on their wall because they were busy making babies when I was busy making art. I reprinted a few copies recently because I wanted to give one as a gift to someone who has been a warm and steady support since I found out I was pregnant with Laura, and because I had never kept a copy for myself way back when…..

But I am changed and what I saw in this piece was different from before. I wrote about it shortly after I hung it on the wall. Here.

Leave a Reply

Categories

