Posted by: Louise | June 28, 2011

pause

I have sworn off reading heavy stuff for a while. My brain needs to recover.

Or so I said. And then my therapist recommended a book (she never recommends books) and before I know it, I have ordered it and the postman has delivered it and I am flicking through the pages of Psyche’s Veil – Psychotherapy, Fractals and Complexity. Nothing like a little light-hearted romantic comedy to while away the summer days. I might dip my toes into it once or twice over the summer. As I flicked last night though, I happened upon this…

I would like to beg you…, as well as I can, to have patience with everything unresolved in your heart and to try to love the questions themselves as if they were locked rooms or books unwritten in a very foreign language. Don’t search for the answers, which could not be given to you now, because you would not be able to live them. And the point is to live everything. Live the questions now. Perhaps then, someday far in the future, you will gradually, without even noticing it, live your way into the answer.
Rainer Maria Rilke

It is two days to summer holidays here. Everything is winding down. An impending pause in the running here and there of life.

Last October I found an old dress pattern at work – all crinkly tissue paper and pared down instruction. I spent a few hours cutting and arranging, not the pattern as it was intended, but the paper. I arranged the words and the lines of the pattern into a new flow, a poem or piece of creative writing or…

I stitched the little pages of my creation together and it is waiting patiently (8 months later) for a cover.

Pleat
Pleat
Pleat
Pleat

Slight ease

Slight ease
Pleat

Lengthen or shorten here

Foldline

Foldline

Pleat

Foldline
Place on lengthwise grain of fabric

Center back

Sidefront

Hem
(insert cute 1970s graphic of a scissors)

With the possibility of slight ease approaching, I have an evolving “to do” list creeping out from the far recesses of my brain:

Iron my way down to the bottom of the overburdened ironing basket
Read many lighthearted, but beautifully written novels
Rearrange the Giraffe Princess’s bedroom in a vain attempt to find some layout that she can actually keep tidy
Spend time with Astro Boy doing occupational therapy exercises that may help land him on Planet Earth every once in a while.
Post all well intentioned, but as yet undelivered packages to foreign countries.
Buy my brother and his wife a wedding present (9 months late)
Hoover/vacuum our house from top to bottom
Dust/clean our house from top to bottom
Do both the above more than once
Sort all the lego into containers so the kids can find the pieces they are looking for
Make a wall hanging for Laura
Spend time cooking/ crafting/ reading with the Little Boy Racer
Hope the above distracts him from wanting to play cars with me – I really struggle with playing cars
Find my way into my crafting basket again
Work my way down through the mending
Remember to go out before bed in search of the slugs and snails that are eating my six precious runner bean plants
Make a decision on and hopefully finalise plans to renovate our house
Go to the beach, more than once or twice
Sleep
Sleep
Sleep

K had an operation last week – an internal nose job. There is a possibility that after years of snoring there may be silence in our house at night. I woke up early a few days ago. It was eerily quiet.

Calm may take some getting used to.

Responses

  1. That is an amazing quote.. and one pretty awesome ‘to do’ list. I need to get my behind into gear with my own list.. I’ll get right on that.. tomorrow. LOL. XO my friend.


Leave a Reply

Categories

